top of page

GARIWO Honor the Women of Rosenstrasse

March 2020 - 77 years after the brave women of Rosenstrasse faced SS machine guns demanding the release of their loved ones, these same women were honored by the Garden of the Righteous Worldwide in Milan. My mother and I were invited to attend the ceremony, planned for March 6, 2020. We had our tickets and passports ready. Then, news broke about a highly contagious virus that was spreading rapidly around the globe. The Lombardy region soon reported its first cases and I watched in dismay as the numbers grew exponentially over the next several days and weeks. I asked my mother what she would like to do and she said she was very concerned about traveling. It was with a heavy heart that we informed GARIWO on February 25th that we would not be attending the event in person. Despite Covid-19 and despite the passage of time, GARIWO honored the women who saved so many lives in March 1943, enabling my mother to build a new life in America and to create new life; her four children, Kenneth of blessed memory, Rachel, Sarah and myself, Ruth. She has 5 beautiful healthy grandchildren and we are indebted to the women who selflessly risked their lives to save others.



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page