top of page

The Second Generation Baton

Teaneck, NJ - February, 2021 - I am Second Gen, 2G, daughter of a survivor. Whatever the category you give me, I always knew this day would come. It is my turn to bear witness to the devastation of the Shoah, to accept the baton handed to me, albeit passively, from my mother. She is no longer in a mental state to be able to tell her story of persecution, forced labor, arrest, release, arrest and release again by the riveting and very little known protest at Rosenstrasse. Here I hold the baton, tongue-tied and worried, wishing I could put it down, yet duty-bound to carry it forward, as I know my children will do one day as well. What Jew wants to remember the hell that was the Holocaust? And what Jew can ever forget? What Jew will refuse the baton? And what Jew will hold it painfully as one would a branding iron, burning, marking, scarring forever the messenger? How does one hold it and not be consumed? By bearing witness. By holding it with others. Please join me at 4pm EST on this Sunday, February 14th to help me hold our story, our history. Please register in advance here.


Resistance of the Heart: A Valentine's Day Program - A Sousa Mendes Foundation program with Professor Nathan Stoltzfus, Dr. Mordecai Paldiel, and Ruth Wiseman


Free but Registration is Required


To follow my blog, Survival's Shadow, please visit this link.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page